Beit Shalom

Our History

The congregation, which is registered as Adelaide Progressive Jewish Congregation, was founded by a dedicated group of lay leaders in 1963. Its first Rabbi, Jeffrey A Kahn, was formally inducted in 1981. Rabbi Kahn and his family returned to the United States in 1986.

Rabbi Ian Morris led our congregation for nine years here until he accepted a position in Leeds, England.

Since then we have had two years' fine service from Rabbi Lenore Bohm and Rabbi Adam Morris, Rabbis David and Patricia Kopstein - all from the United States.

Our current rabbi, Rabbi Shoshana Kaminsky, who is also from the United States but recently became an Australian citizen, joined us in August, 2006.

In 2013, Beit Shalom Synagogue celebrates its 50th anniversary.